Review: Formula X for Sephora (& comments on last week’s The Walking Dead)

Formula X for Sephora in "Curiosity"

(Note: The Walking Dead spoilers are at the end of this post)

This new polish line has been hyped like crazy in the beauty blogging community. There was hype around it even before it came out, when Sephora put all their Sephora by OPI polishes on clearance and replaced their displays with teasers that something new was coming. And I got excited. I was never all that crazy for the Sephora by OPI polishes – I found they chipped quickly. Not so with the new ones.

Enter Formula X. It comes in an overwhelming array of colours, including some really unique glitters and topcoats. (Srsly. I spent a good ten minutes circling the display like a crazy before I settled on this one.) Each regular polish retails for $13, while glitters, topcoats and duochromes are $15. Some treatments, sprays, and nail strengtheners sell for $17. It’s a whole line of nailcare. Serious business.

“Curiosity” is described as “lipstick red” – which is odd because lipsticks come in like a trillion shades of red? I’d call it more of a classic, true red – neither warm nor cool, neither bright nor dark. It’s got a creme finish, and is part of the New Classics collection. I agree with this categorization – it’s totally a classic red and has earned itself a prominent place in my collection.

Off with your cap!

Off with your cap!

The bottle is really nice, with a high-end feel to it. The cap comes off like a Chanel or Butter London polish, which seems a bit wasteful packaging-wise, buuuut it’s pretty and makes the bottle look all futuristic and sleek, so I suppose forgive.

But the main event is the formula. It’s marketed as super shiny, fast-drying, and long-wearing and it doesn’t disappoint!

Check out that shine, kids.

Check out that shine, kids.

In the shine and wear department, it rivals an at-home gel manicure. It is insanely shiny, and I just used my normal topcoat (Seche Vite). It wears really well. I find that an OPI or Essie polish looks good for 3 or 4 days before it starts to chip. Formula X had minor tip wear on the 5th day, and started to chip on the 6th. That is some impressive wear, especially considering I just used my normal base (Butter London Nail Foundation).

I’m not too sure about the fast-drying claim; Seche Vite makes everything dry fast, but reds are notorious for taking forever to dry.

Despite that, I’m really loving this polish. I love that it has the wear of a gel but isn’t as much of a pain to remove. I even love the name (Formula X reminds me of the PowerPuff Girls, when “Professor Utonium accidentally added an extra ingredient to the concoction: CHEMICAL X!”). I legit can’t wait to get more shades, although I really can’t decide which shade I want next…maybe something dark? Or maybe I’ll try out one of those badass-looking glitters.

In other news, I’m still in shock or something over last week’s episode of The Walking Dead; my body is not ready for tomorrow’s.

[SPOILERS!]

What the heck Rick. JUST as I was starting to like Carol, ya kick her to the curb. What I find most annoying in this show – aside from Carl – is Rick’s hypocrisy. He decided he couldn’t trust Carol anymore because she made a decision to kill 2 people in order to protect the group. But meanwhile, back in the beginning of season 3, Rick bashed a machete through Tomas’s head because he decided he was a threat. He didn’t consult anyone to see if that was ok, he just acted. Carol pretty much did the same thing. I don’t get why it’s not okay.

I think Daryl’s gon’ be mad. He and Carol were bros.

I am not prepared for tomorrow’s episode!!

Signature

Comments

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    That nail color is fab!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  2. i like this nail color very high-class thanks for the review

Tell me what you think!

