DIY Ribbon Hair Ties

DIY Ribbon Hair Ties

Ribbon hair ties hit the market bigtime a year or two ago. They were touted as being gentle on hair (because of the soft elastic and no metal closure) and super cute on the wrist.

When I went to the mall to try to get in on the trend, though, I found that they retail for more than a dollar each. For hair ties I’m probs gonna lose by next week? Ouch.

I purchased a few just to see if I like them and, like everyone else, I do. They’re awesome for curly hair because it won’t leave a ponytail bump (you know the one. Don’t pretend you don’t.). And I liked them, but not their price tag. I figured I could make them for less than the cost of a packet of one…and I was right! If you wanna do the same, here’s what you’ll need:

  • Ruler
  • Scissors
  • 5/8 inch fold-over elastic (FOE) – available here for a reasonable price with quick shipping!
  • Candle + lighter or matches

    All it takes are 4 easy steps:

    1. Measure your elastic. Make an angled cut around 23cm (9 inches) in length; make it longer if you want a larger elastic, and shorter if you want a smaller one.

    Step 1: Cut your elastic all angled and pretty.

    Cut your elastic all angled and pretty. Use sharp scissors so the elastic doesn’t fray!

    2. Fold the elastic in half.

    Fold it neatly! It's easier than folding a fitted sheet, which I swear is impossible.

    Fold it neatly! It’s easier than folding a fitted sheet, which I swear is impossible.

    3. Knot it on the open end.

    This post just got knotty. And punny.

    This post just got knotty. And punny.

    4. Use fire (carefully – try not to burn yourself or anything else) to carefully melt the raw edge to keep it from fraying.

    I didn't show the burning bit because I was concentrating on not lighting myself on fire.

    I didn’t show the burning bit because I was concentrating on not lighting myself on fire.

    Voila! They make really lovely, easy gifts for friends and family. The best part is that they’re so inexpensive to make that when I inevitably lose them, I can just pull out my reels of elastic and make a few dozen more!

    Signature

  • Comments

    1. omg! I so need to try this out! instead of purchasing the twistbands!

      lovely blog! new follower!

    2. Misschanelli.com says:

      I love your DIY posts. I’m such a fan of experimenting, can you do a festive look? I’d love to see that x

      http://www.chanelli.wordpress.com

    Tell me what you think!

