Layer It On! My Mascara Routine

Mascara Routine edited

So anyone who’s had a beauty-related discussion with me pretty much knows that I am eyelash obsessed.

Honestly, my lashes kinda suck. They’re thin, pretty short, and super straight. Bleh.

Consequently, I’ve been on a hunt – kinda like my HG Lip Balm Quest – to find the ultimate mascara. I want it to define, separate, thicken, lengthen, and hold a curl…but I don’t want it to be too hard to remove.

So far, I haven’t found one that does all these things all in one. Solution? Layer three different mascaras that do three different things!

Generally, I look for one to hold curl, one to thicken and separate, and one to lengthen. At the moment, these are what I’m using.

First, I curl my lashes with my Shu Uemera Eyelash Curler. I like that it curls lashes with minimal crimping – you know, the creepy, unnatural “L” that some curlers put in lashes. Yeah. This minimizes that. So I use them to curl my lashes in multiple places.

The first mascara I use is Maybelline The Rocket Waterproof Mascara. I use a super thin coat of this to hold a curl. Waterproof mascaras always hold a curl better than non-waterproof versions. This is because non-waterproof versions are water-based, which makes curled lashes droop. Unfortunately, waterproof mascara’s notoriously hard to remove and I am ultra lazy, so I only use a very thin coat.

Next up is Diorshow New Look Mascara. I use this for the volumizing and separating step. It worked really nicely for the first month or so that I had it, but now that it’s dried out a bit, it tends to clump on me sometimes. This means that I’ve got to fuss with it and be careful with it a bit more to get it to look good. Definitely not worth the price tag, and I will be going back to my CoverGirl Clump Crusher once it’s completely unusable.

My last step is Maybelline Illegal Lengths Mascara. This is a fiber mascara, and the best one I’ve found at the drugstore. It doesn’t do that weird twig-like thing that a lot of fiber mascaras do. I just sort of dab it on the ends of my lashes only, and it builds up some length really nicely.

And that’s it! It may seem like a lot, but it’s pretty quick and works well for me. When I run out of one mascara, I usually switch it out for the same one or one in the same category – waterproof, thickening, or lengthening.

Has anyone else had any luck layering mascaras?

Signature

Comments

  1. Laura McLean says:

    I’m not sure if you’ve heard of this trick before, but I find if I put the mascara bottle (closed obviously) in a cup of warm water before applying it it goes on quite nicely (especially when the mascara isn’t brand new)!

Tell me what you think!

