Sheer It Out! Givenchy “Brun Createur” Lipstick

How bleeping cute is that packaging?

How bleeping cute is that packaging?

Last week, I got this truly lovely sample with my purchase at the Sephora VIB Sale. I’ve never tried a Givenchy lipstick, so of course a free mini is a nice way to get a taste of the luxury without the price tag.

Seriously. This is 100-point-perk-worthy. (But it was freeeeeeee!)

It came in that tiny luxe-casket-looking box, wrapped in tiny Givenchy monogram tissue paper.

Up top the lipstick is applied full-on; on the bottom I've sheered it out a bit.

Up top the lipstick is applied full-on; on the bottom I’ve sheered it out a bit.

I’m not crazy about the colour applied conventionally — when applied full-on, it looks a bit odd on me because it is so pigmented and a bit too light. But sheered out with a hydrating lip balm and my finger – an awesome trick to make richly-coloured lipsticks more wearable – it evens out my lips and looks quite pretty! I love this technique and use it quite a lot if I want a little bit of colour without looking too “done”, or if I want to make a scary lipstick wearable.

The result: sheer, and wearable, and non-weird.

The result: sheer, and wearable, and non-weird.

The formula itself is moisturizing without being too shiny and slippy, and gives a satin finish. That’s good because it’ll definitely stay in place for those who do want to do a full-on, precise application of the colour.

Good on you, Sephora! A really nice sample makes an event like last week’s feel special.

Signature

Tell me what you think!

