Review: Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoos

Maybelline Colour Tattoos

So when these cream shadows came onto the market a few years back, everybody flipped out. Particular shades were virtually impossible to find because they sold out so fast (I’m looking at you, Bad to the Bronze!) and as they released more shades, those got snapped up quickly too.

When you try one out, it’s easy to see why Maybelline 24hr Colour Tattoo cream eyeshadows are so popular. They come in tons of pretty colours, ranging from neutrals to pigmented brights and darks to a silvery white. They stay on well. All that for under $10? Omg.

I don’t know how they stand up without a primer because I always always always prime, but when I do primer, a layer of these, and then a powder shadow, I can stay crease-free all day.

The colours I have are Barely Beige, Bad to the Bronze, and Inked in Pink.

Maybelline Colour Tattoos

Before I get into a breakdown of the colours, here’s an application tip: if you find that they (or any other cream or gel product in a glass jar, like gel liner) dry out over time, pop them in the microwave for a few seconds before you use them. This makes the product creamy again and you can squeeze some more uses out of it!

Anyway, on with the show…

Maybelline Colour Tattoos swatches

Barely Beige is very beige. It’s a shimmery, gold-toned beige that works well as a base for virtually any other colour or on its own. This one is probably my most-used, simply because of its versatility. I think this one was limited edition, but I believe there’s one called Barely Branded that is virtually the same shade.

Bad to the Bronze is the shade everybody was flipping out for, and with good reason. It’s…well, bronze! It’s very close to my skintone, actually. That makes it a great base for most colours for me, as well, but I find I do like to wear this one on its own. This one goes well under taupes, beiges, bronzes, and golds.

(Fun fact: I dropped my first pot of this shade on the ground in my bathroom, whereupon it shattered into a quintillion pieces. I swept them up and mourned the loss of my shadow, planning to get a new one because I already liked it. Months later, I stepped on a stray shard of glass at 2 am and it became lodged in my foot. I had to limp downstairs and wake my mom to pull it out of my foot. Yuuuuuup.)

The third shade I’ve got is Inked in Pink. I’m not 100% sure why I got this shade because I tend to gravitate towards colours with golden undertones, and this is a straight-up pink. It’s so pink that I’m a bit at a loss for what to wear it with. I think once I put Toasted from Urban Decay’s Naked Palette on top, and I think that worked out well. But It just ain’t my cup of tea. Nonetheless, a pretty shade! Maybe I’ll make an effort to wear it more because it’s kinda awesome.

All in all, these shadows are worth every penny. They’re a great alternative to MAC Paint Pots or Benefit cream shadows…and probably less than half the price. Maybelline gets it right again!

Signature

Tell me what you think!

