New at the Drugstore! Maybelline Colour Elixir in “Captivating Carnation”

Maybelline Colour Elixir in Captivating Carnation

Every so often the drugstore brands release an arsenal of new lip products. They always come out in the US first, which results in me hearing about them online and stalking my local drugstores like a crazy person waiting for them to arrive here in Canada.

I got super excited when I saw these at my local Shoppers Drug Mart. They’re the Maybelline Colour Elixir lip glosses. And they’re pretty great.

I love the packaging. Love it. It looks like a lipstick bullet suspended in glass — super creative.

Maybelline Colour Elixir in Captivating Carnation swatch

I got the colour “Captivating Carnation”. It’s not super pigmented, but it provides a really nice, sheer wash of colour. I usually gravitate towards more berry or pink-brown pinks, but this is more of a ‘true’ pink…and I really like it on me!

It isn’t sticky on the lips, which I really like — I hate when the wind blows my hair into my lipgloss and then it gets stuck there. Not with this gloss. It does have a fairly thick feeling, almost like a very nourishing lip balm. However, I didn’t find it very hydrating. That didn’t bother me too much, because I usually wear an actual lip balm underneath my glosses and lipsticks.

Maybelline Colour Elixir in Captivating Carnation on lips

Overall, it’s a nice gloss! I like it, but I probably won’t be rushing out to buy a million more shades. It’s nice, but I’m not absolutely crazy for it (the way I am with Revlon Lip Butters!).

In other news, The Walking Dead is on tonight…

Spoilers?

…and if it’s another Governor-centric episode, I might cry. From boredom. And disappointment.

This show is great and I’ll stick it out, but last week’s episode was soooOOOO0000zero disappointing. Hopefully this week is a bit better.

Signature

Tell me what you think!

