My Eyebrow Threading Experience

My brows the day after threading, unfilled.

I’m relatively new to the world of eyebrow upkeep. It was only a year or two that I got my brows waxed for the first time. Then I moved, and didn’t bother finding someone to do them for me. It wasn’t until this past summer that I started going to get them waxed regularly, every 4-6 weeks.
I always thought that I didn’t have enough eyebrow hair to warrant removing any, but as it turns out, shaping my brows (and filling them in) a little has resulted in it looking like I’m browier than I actually am.

My brows were in desperate need of some attention, and there’s a new threading brow bar called Kurves at the mall where I work. So after my shift a few days ago, I headed over and got my brows threaded for the very first time!

For those of you who don’t know, threading is a hair removal technique where the technician loops a piece of thread and uses it to catch the unwanted hairs in a line and pull them out. It’s an ancient technique and is super popular in the GTA (Greater Toronto Area), where I grew up.

I didn’t know what to expect when I sat in the chair. The chair itself was weird; it leaned back, like Sweeney Todd’s barber chair but without the murder. The weirdest bit of all was that, as the tech was threading my brows, I could feel and hear each individual hair being pulled out. Ick!

As for pain, it didn’t hurt as much as waxing. Also, normally my skin itches after waxing, and I didn’t get as much of that with threading. Threading is supposedly good for those with skin sensitivities (due to conditions like psoriasis or medications like Retin-A or Accutane) who cannot use wax. It’s great because it doesn’t rip off a layer of your skin with the hair.

But the best part of all is the precision.

I’ve always been told that eyebrows are supposed to be sisters, not twins. Well, that’s how mine were with waxing; they looked similar, but there was always something funky going on with the right one. It was my problem child. This is likely because, although the aesthetician performing the waxing could control where the wax went, once she would cover the wax with a piece of cloth, there was no controlling where it spread to. Threading is so precise, however, that it has made my eyebrows closer to being identical than they ever have been. Now they’re like Mary-Kate and Ashley: you know they’re not exactly the same, and there are articles on the internet dedicated to telling them apart, but the average person can’t.

The best part is that threading at Kurves is cheaper than where I normally go for waxing! I paid $11.60 with tax plus tip, whereas waxing costed me close to $15 plus tip. Ouch, in more ways than one.

The final verdict? I’m never going back to the wax. 🙂

Comments

  1. Thanks for the insight! I have been trying to decide if I should try waxing.

Tell me what you think!

