Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette Swatches, Thoughts & a Naked Comparison!

Urban Decay Naked 3 Case

Everyone and their mom is excited about this palette. And with good reason.

This is the third instalment in Urban Decay’s Naked palette series, or the fourth if you count Naked Basics.

As a lover of neutral shadows (all I ever wear, kids), of course I got in on the Naked craze. I got Naked 1 shortly after it came out. I got Naked 2 the day it came out. I skipped out on Naked Basics because, although I love matte shadows and they’re seriously lacking in N1 and N2, the shades in Basics all looked like I’d swatched chalk.

As for Naked 3…well, I went to the pre-release at Sephora to pick one up because the one I ordered was taking too long to get to me. I know. I know.

The draw with Naked 3 is that all the shades are rose gold neutrals that have never been released individually or in any other palette. They’re brand new, and they’re gorgeous.

Without further ado, here are my thoughts on each shadow.

Top to bottom: Strange, Dust, Burnout, Limit, Buzz, Trick

Top to bottom: Strange, Dust, Burnout, Limit, Buzz, Trick

  • Strange is a matte shade. It’s a wee bit chalky on my skin, but I still like it sheered out as an inner corner and browbone highlight.
  • Dust is one of those UD glitters so notorious for fallout. I find it doesn’t have much pigment when applied with a brush, just a lot of glitter. When I apply it with my finger, though, it’s stunning. This would work best over a base or packed on with the finger.
  • Burnout is yet another of those fallout-y glitters. But the shade tho… It’s beautiful if you’re willing to work with it.
  • Limit is another matte. This one’s creamy and nice for a matte base!
  • Buzz is another fallout-prone glitter, though not as much as Dust, and the pigment is better.
  • Trick is probably my favourite shade overall, as it’s a true rose gold in my eyes. It’s another glitter, but so worth the fallout to me. So worth it.

    Top to bottom: Nooner, Liar, Factory, Mugshot, Darkside, Blackheart

    Top to bottom: Nooner, Liar, Factory, Mugshot, Darkside, Blackheart

  • Nooner is another matte and is slightly darker than limit. I like this one to blend out.
  • Liar is less pink in the pan than most of the others. It’s a smooth shimmer – great when you don’t have the patience for one of those gorgeous glitters.
  • Factory is another smooth shimmer, and would make a really lovely crease shade.
  • Mugshot is probably the coolest-toned of the bunch, and is another shimmer.
  • Darkside is my favourite crease shade. It’s smooth, pigmented, and blends like a dream.
  • Blackheart was the shade I was most excited about. It’s a dark brown shot with red shimmer, and it’s so pretty. The shimmer warms it up, making it look like a dark purple.

    Naked 1, 2, 3 Shadow Closeup Comparaison

    And finally, I’ve some advice for those new to Naked and those on the fence about which one(s) to buy.

  • Naked 1 is full of warm bronzes and was always my favourite because it compliments my skintone really nicely. I would recommend it for someone who tends to like bronzes and golds, and especially for someone with darker skin like mine, especially with golden undertones.
  • Naked 2 has more grey-beiges (taupes *shudder*), and I find it lacking in crease colours for someone of my complexion. I still love it, though, and make it work by mixing shades. This would work easily with light-to-medium complexions with golden or pink undertones.
  • Naked 3 was advertised as universally flattering…and it really is. Because it’s got pink and gold in it, it’ll work on any undertones. It’s got a nice mix of darker shades and lighter shades. The only thing is that there’s a lot of glitter. If you’re not into glitter that takes more work to wear (because of fallout), go with Naked 1 or 2, where glitter shades are fewer.
  • Finally, I think Naked Basics is the most limited of the bunch, not because of the number of shades, but because of the selection they put in there. If you’re fair, like mattes, and/or want to experience Naked for half the price of 1, 2, or 3, go with Basics.

    Phew – what a post! If you made it to the end, I applaud and thank you!

  • Tell me what you think!

