Review: Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara Packaging

As I sit, enjoying a Santa’s Secret latte and trying out a new face mask this Christmas Day Eve, I thought I’d write up a quick post about a mascara I’ve been thinking about.

It’s Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara. The gimmicky, sex-themed mascaras have been hitting the market lately. First was Benefit’s They’re Real mascara, which I didn’t think was super impressive — any mascara that claims that you’ll get a false-lash effect doesn’t usually meet my expectations, because frankly, my lashes suck to begin with and they’re set up for failure.

Too Faced Better Than Sex makes a bold claim as well, but it doesn’t claim a false-lash effect. Maybe that’s why I’m more impressed with it.

It sells for about the same as the Benefit one, and I find it to be better quality, starting with the packaging. This one is a pretty metallic pink package with the name raised up.

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara Brush

The wand itself has a weighted handle — weighted! It makes me feel like I’m wielding a sword or something. The brush is dense and has a weird hourglass shape that I’ve never seen in a mascara wand before. I’m not 100% sure what the logic behind it is, but it seems to work well to target the inner and outer corners.

The formula is thick with no discernible fibres, but it does a nice job of thickening and lengthening. It’s not waterproof, and so I find that it makes my lashes droop and lose their curl almost instantly. (Find out why I use a waterproof mascara to keep curl here.)

Left: With Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara. Right: Without.

Left: With Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara. Right: Without.

It’s a really great mascara, but you do have to have a little patience with it because of clumps. Because the brush is so dense and the the formula so thick, it does tend to clump quite easily. I like to use it over a waterproof mascara and under my CoverGirl Clump Crusher Extensions; the brush on the Clump Crusher gets rid of the clumps easily.

So although it’s not the best for keeping a curl or separating, it’s really great for lengthening and thickening like crazy. In combination with a curling and separating mascara, it’s really nice. If you’re looking for an all-in-one, this might not be it, but if you’re willing to work with it, it’s quite nice!

Tell me what you think!

