My 2013 Non-Beauty/Geeky Favourites!

This was a great year to be alive in the geekosphere, friends. I read lots, watched lots, and fangirled lots. So without further delay, let’s hop to it!

  • Favourite book: 2013 was an excellent reading year for me, so it’s hard for me to pick just one book. I adored Neil Gaiman’s American Gods, as I’ve said before. I also started the Song of Ice and Fire series, which I would recommend to anyone who likes scifi-fantasy-Tolkienian books.
  • Favourite TV show: In 2013, I watched a LOT of good TV, and it’s entirely my boyfriend’s fault. If I had to pick a favourite, though, I’d have to go with The Walking Dead. It was the one show that I was consistently wowed by every week and that I am most looking forward to the return of. A close runner-up, however, is Hannibal. The writing is so great, and the casting is absolutely perfect. That show is the bee’s knees.
  • Favourite movie: I saw a lot of movies in 2013, but I never know if I like a movie because it was really bad or because it was legitimately good. I thoroughly enjoyed The Wolverine and Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs 2!
  • Favourite web series: I’m adding this in because I watched The Guild this year and flipping loved it. Shortly afterwards, I met Felicia Day at Ottawa ComicCon and asdfghjkl I’m still excited about it.
  • Favourite game: It’s a two-way tie between Lord of the Rings Online and Path of Exile. I love them for two different reasons. I love LOTRO because I love the story and I enjoy running around being like “ehehhehe I’m a hobbit, omg look there’s Gandalf”. I love PoE because I love running around and killing massive groups of cannibals, screaming monkeys, murder scorpions, jumpy goats, and firey foxes.
  • Favourite YouTubers: I’ve got another two-way tie here. In the beauty category, I pick Shameless Maya. She’s hilarious, so fun to watch, and her curly hair videos are so informative. Over in the entertainment/gaming category, I definitely pick Toby Turner. His songs are so catchy and I can’t get enough of his Let’s Play (favourites include The Walking Dead, Amnesia, and Slender).
  • Favourite blog: Check my sidebar for a full list, but if I had to choose one overall favourite for 2013, I’d have to pick Essie Button!
  • Favourite app: Candy Crush. Enough said…
  • Favourite gadget: Because I started this blog in 2013, I really got into photography! My favourite gadget, then, was my Canon EOS Rebel T3i, which I use for all my blog photography.
  • Favourite tea: Chai Guarana and Orange Pekoe from David’s Tea were winners for me this year!

    That seems to be it, not that that’s a small list. Hope you enjoyed hearing which random and geeky things I loved this year. Happy New Year!

    (As usual, photos that aren’t mine are sourced. Just click through to see (and, sometimes, buy!))

  • Tell me what you think!

