Review: Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser

Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser primer

I was so super excited to find this product at WalMart last week. I’ve been hearing about it online for a few weeks now. Like Baby Lips before it (which I actually could not stand), Maybelline Baby Skin primer has been eagerly snatched up and reviewed by beauty bloggers everywhere. So I’m on the bandwagon, even though at first glance, there are several aspects of this product that just aren’t my thing.

First is the name: Baby Skin? Those freakin’ babies with their perfect skin. So smooth and poreless and good-smelling and they aren’t even self-aware enough to appreciate it. I don’t know, there’s just something a little bit creepy about it to me.

Second is the pore-erasing goal. (Personally, I’m okay with my pores – I just like to clean them out so they don’t get all gunky.) Why do we always seek to erase basic parts of human anatomy? If we were poreless, we’d probably explode and die or something, idk I’m not sure of the science. In any case, everybody’s always trying to make their pores disappear. My point is that it’s never going to happen, and probably with some good scientific and physiological reason, too.

But let’s not get into impossible standards of beauty again, shall we?

Normally I don’t use primer, but I actually do like this one. So that’s saying something!

Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser Primer tube squeeze

Right off the bat, if you don’t like silicone-y primers, you’re not going to like this one. It has a very slippy, silicone-y texture. It comes out of the tube slightly stiff, and a little goes a very long way.

I apply it with my fingers after moisturizer but before concealer and foundation.

For me, it really does make my skin instantly smoother. As I previously mentioned, I don’t really have issues with pores. I do, however, like my skin to look as smooth as possible, and this primer really helps with that. And, like a good primer should, it holds my makeup on all day long; I really do notice a difference between how my makeup looks in the evening on a no-primer-day versus how it looks on a day where I wore Baby Skin.

What I also really like is that you don’t need to necessarily wear makeup over it to see a difference. I wore this primer over my moisturizer on a no-makeup day when I just wanted my skin to look smooth and nice. It’s great for that too!

Maybelline Baby Skin has been touted as a (much cheaper!) dupe for the Benefit POREfessional primer, or possibly the Smashbox Photo Finish primer. I’ve never tried the Smashbox one, but I did have a deluxe sample of the Benefit one.

The most obvious difference between this primer and the Benefit’s is that Benefits is beige while Maybelline’s is clear (like Smashbox’s). Both are silicone-based primers, so they both give you that slippery feeling. However, I find Benefit’s primer to be less thick than Maybelline’s. Both give the appearance of smooth skin. They’re very similar, but by no means a dupe; they’re different enough that you could reasonably own both.

The bottom line is, if you’re looking for a primer that’ll hold your makeup on and give you smooth skin – on a budget or not! – Maybelline Baby Skin is an awesome choice.

Tell me what you think!

