The Glam Night Out

The Glam Night Out Collage

As much as I love natural-looking makeup, some events in life just call for the full shebang.

I created this look for (my first) night out clubbing with friends. It was an event to raise money for the Canadian Cancer Society. Although we had been planning it for a while and I had had a ton of time to plan my look, I threw this together the night of without a whole lot of strategy.

Products for the look

To start, I did my regular foundation routine, but skipped the undereye concealer because with a darker makeup look, it’s best to do that last.

Next I primed my eyes with Urban Decay Primer Potion, then contoured my cheeks with my CoverGirl Queen Collection bronzer. I like it for contouring because it adds definition but still adds warmth as well. I set the look with a healthy helping of my beloved Rimmel Stay Matte powder.

Naked 3 Shadows used

Next I dampened my ELF $1 Shadow brush and dipped it in ‘Trick’ from the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette. This shade has flecks of glitter in it, and the damp brush helps prevent them from flying all over my face – plus, it intensifies the colour. I patted this colour all over my lids.

I grabbed my Sigma E40 and used a mixture of ‘Limit’ and ‘Nooner’ to blend out harsh lines.

With my MAC 217 dipped in ‘Blackheart’, I created a very exaggerated outer-V shape. I wanted to accentuate the sort of flared, exotic look that the lashes I chose would give my eyes. With my eyes open and looking straight into the mirror, I used my Sigma E25 to add a little bit more ‘Blackheart’ in the outer crease to give it a diffused look. Then I used my E40 again to blend a ton.

Next, I lined my eyes with fairly thin line using Lancome’s Artliner in Black. At this point I used some Bioderma on a cotton pad to clean the glitter fallout from under my eyes. Then I figured it was safe to add in my undereye concealer, so I used NARS Creamy Radiant Concealer in ‘Amande’ for that.

To finish up the eyes, I applied Ardell’s Demi Wispies with some clear Duo lash glue. It took me a few tries, I’m not going to lie!

eyes closed closeup

I filled my brows (quite heavily) with Hourglass Arch Brow pencil (in their darkest shade) and curled my lashes slightly. To hold the curl, I used a light coat of Maybelline The Rocket Waterproof.

On my cheeks, I used Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in ‘Blissful’. Then I went in with tons of highlighter – TheBalm’s Betty Lou-Manizer is my absolute favourite. I used a stippling brush to place it on the apples of my cheeks. I even used it to highlight the inner corners of my eyes, the arches of my brows, and down the bridge of my nose (my favourite trick).

For lips, I used my favourite MLBB combination: Marc Jacobs lipstick in ‘Role Play’ and Urban Decay Naked Gloss in ‘Liar’.

And before I stepped out the door, I misted on a ton of Urban Decay De-Slick Setting Spray.

face full

I’d call this an amped-up neutral look. It’s perfect for a night out!

Tell me what you think!

