Review: Urban Decay Naked Ultra Nourishing Gloss

UD Gloss

The world knows by now that I don’t like lip gloss, but I’ve been feeling the urge to wear lip products lately. This has prompted me to give the gloss another go.

The world also knows that I love Urban Decay’s Naked palettes.

So when Urban Decay announced a Naked lip gloss line, I was intrigued…and then I was disappointed. Swatches on blogs like Temptalia suggested that the glosses were super sheer and really not all that different. I quickly lost interest based on what I saw. However, a read through the techie skincare benefits seduced me:

It’s a gloss like no other: creamy, shiny and intensely nourishing. We laced it with Hyaluronic Filling Spheres™, vitamin E, avocado oil and shea butter to condition lips, then added rosehip seed oil for an extra hit of vitamins. [sic.]

I don’t know what Hyaluronic Filling Spheres are, but I’m guessing they’re related to hyaluronic acid, which I talked about briefly in my Origins Drink Up Intensive review. Essentially, it – and all the other ingredients – means lots and lots of moisture.

A lip gloss with the benefits of a balm.

UD Gloss On Lips

So I purchased the shade “Liar”, which in the tube is a beautiful brown-based pink. It goes on sheer, but is absolutely lovely over a punchier nude – I wore it over Marc Jacobs Lovemarc Lip Gel in “Role Play” here.

I feel like anybody with any skintone could choose any gloss from this line and be a-ok. They’re super sheer, and tend to look fundamentally the same regardless of the shade…which I’m actually okay with. If you revisit the claim they make above, it doesn’t say anything about packing a super-intense colour punch. It’s Naked, after all.

But it’s worth it. This is the most hydrating gloss I’ve ever met. I’ve actually been reaching for it over a lip balm, which is crazy. If they made it in clear, I’d wear it to bed at night. It leaves my lips moisturized long-term; this contrasts with something like MAC Lip Glass, which makes your lips look wet and shiny when it’s on but leaves them Sahara-dry when it wears off. Plus, UD’s gloss isn’t anywhere near as sticky as MAC’s!

The packaging itself is sleek and lovely (and a little bit rose gold?), in true UD Naked (3) style. No complaints there!

The verdict? If you’re like me and love lip balm but wanna step up your game, this is a great option. Choose one shade that you think will work for you, try it on to make sure it does, and stick with that one shade. They’re too sheer for me to justify owning more than one, but the formula is too wonderful to pass up!

Tell me what you think!

