Review: Out the Door Top Coat

Out the Door

Today’s post is a bit of a downer. I’ve had this topcoat sitting on my desk to review for a few months now, and I’ve been lacking the motivation to write this post. I figure it’s because positive reviews are so much fun to write (and read).

But I’m always honest, and when I feel strongly about something, I feel like I should share it with you all. Plus, my Do-Not-Buy List series seems to be reasonably popular, so perhaps you’ll get a kick out of this review.

A lot of bloggers – particularly MakeupByTiffanyD – have raved about Out the Door Top Coat as being better than Seche Vite. I love Seche Vite, but recently stopped using it after my third (or fourth) bottle got too gloopy partway through. That’s one of the major drawbacks of Seche Vite, and Out the Door isn’t supposed to do that. It’s also a fraction of the Seche Vite price.

But what I found with Out the Door was that, even if it wasn’t gloopy, it wasn’t all that shiny, either. It did dry quickly, but compared to the mirror-shine that is Seche Vite, it looked like I hadn’t bothered with a topcoat at all.

What’s more, it made a polish that I normally get 4-5 days of chip-free wear from chip in less than 24 hours. Not cool.

The bottom line is, if you’re a Seche Vite fan or like a lot of shine, pass on Out the Door. If major shine isn’t all that important to you and you’re just looking for an inexpensive fast-drying topcoat, then maybe it’s worth a shot.

(As an aside, I’m wearing Nails Inc Porchester Square in the photo – review to come!)

Tell me what you think!

