“Excuse me while I powder my eyelashes…”

Mascara-Eye-Side

We beauty junkies aren’t above doing some pretty strange stuff if it yields results.

When it comes to eyelashes, I’m not well-endowed – as you can see from the ‘before’ photo above. They’re short, thin, and so straight they point down. As a result I’ve tried a lot of mascaras and have settled into a nice little way to layer mascara and get decent results. Still, they could be bigger.

I stumbled across this idea years ago, and hadn’t tried it since probably high school because who has time for this. Apparently I do. I had a few extra minutes on Monday morning and I used them to give this a try.

Baby Powder

After curling my lashes, all I did was squirt a little baby powder into my hand. With a Q-Tip waiting in the wings, I applied my first coat of mascara (for me, waterproof). While the mascara was still wet, I dipped the Q-Tip into the powder and ran it across my lashes. You don’t need much; a little goes a long way.

I followed up with a coat of my second-coat mascara. It’s great on its own, but with baby powder to cling to and build up volume, wow.

If you try this and want even more drama, you can apply another layer of powder after your second coat of mascara, but do keep a lash comb handy to keep things from getting clumpy.

Comments

  1. Love it! I too am eyelash challenged and am excited to try this : )

Tell me what you think!

