How to Add Some Oomph to Your Deep Conditioner

Conditioner

Necessity combined with interest to create this DIY.

Curly hair is the driest, brittlest, and most fragile hair type. That’s because the shape of the curls doesn’t let natural oil from the scalp moisturize the whole strand. As a result, curlies have to up the hydration in their products to compensate. Deep conditioning is a great way to do that.

Also, I’ve been dabbling in the world of DIY beauty products. It’s fun and exciting to mix up your own creations, and then you know exactly what goes into them.

I thought I’d try a variation on the typical DIY hair mask recipe – you know, banana, avocado, egg, olive oil, mayo. I thought I’d try using my favourite deep conditioner as a base, and then adding some of those weird things to it.

I really like the MoroccanOil Intense Hydrating Mask. It was expensive, but I’ve had this pot of it for more than a year – a little goes a very long way, especially if you add some of your own things to it.

I added half a banana to about a teaspoon of the mask. This is nice on its own, but the second time I tried it I popped in a scoop of coconut oil, a drizzle of olive oil, a few pumps of MoroccanOil, and a little bit of water to make the mixture more spreadable.

Now, this step is crucial: BLEND IT. Use a blender or a food processor to blend it to a paste or liquid depending on the consistency you like. Either way, there should be no chunks of banana in there whatsoever. Trust me. The first time around, I skipped the blending and just mashed a banana into my deep conditioner. The result was little chunks of banana stuck in my hair. I had to brush my hair with my TangleTeezer while rinsing to get most of them out. Most of them. So blend it.

Spread it onto sections of hair. I braided the sections, then tied them up in a plastic bag to lock the heat and moisture in, then covered that with a towel turban. Then I sat around for a few hours.

When I rinsed it out, there were no banana chunks, but more importantly, my hair was soft, shiny, and smooth. As a bonus, even three days later, it smells like a combo of MoroccanOil and banana. Yum.

Tell me what you think!

