DIY Nail Polish Catalogue

DIY Nail Catalogue for FB Insta

I moved recently, and the most jarring part of it was the amount of beauty products I own and the lack of organization among them. So I picked up a new organizational item from Ikea that, once I get the inside drawers how I want them, I will be sharing here.

The one drawer that is how I want it is my nail polish drawer at the bottom. I used to keep my nail polish in a train case, but that was dark (and my collection had outgrown it), which meant that I inevitably forgot about some colours and didn’t use them. Out of sight, out of mind, I guess.

I had some free time and a cute notebook I wasn’t doing anything else with, so I decided to create an organized flipbook of all my nail polish colours.

I organized mine (primarily) by brand because that’s how I think of my colours in my head, but if you try this at home, you can organize yours however you like.

Here’s what you need:
– A cute notebook. Mine is a Kate Spade one that came in a packet of two.
– A pen
– A Sharpie or other permanent marker
– Some tabs
– Your nail polish collection

Open to Essie

1. First, decide how you want to organize your polishes. By brand? By finish? By colour? Alphabetically?

2. Next, start swatching and labelling your polishes. At this stage, it’s important to let each set of swatches completely dry before you turn the page. I got a little too eager a few times and ended up with polish transferred to the back of another page. It’s no big deal, but it’s less tidy.

Open to OPI

Also make sure you leave enough space (or additional pages) between sections to allow for your collection to grow. You can do this based on what shades or brands or finishes you’re drawn to. I, for example, really love Essie, so I left several pages at the end of the Essie section. I’m not so crazy about Butter London, so I left a half a page between the Butter London section and the section after it.

3. Label tabs for your sections so that everything is neatly organized and easily accessible.

Closed Book

And voilà! Now you’ve got an inventory of all your shades to flip through the next time you’re a-paintin’.

Comments

  1. Rachel R. says:

    This is one of those ultra-simple ideas that are so brilliant, I want to smack myself upside the head and say, “Why didn’t I think of that?!” I organize mine by color on my shelves, but it would be nice to have a catalog to refer to instead of looking through little plastic baskets trying to decide what color will work.

    • The only problem I’m running into is updating it as I continue to purchase new polishes – I always forget to swatch and label them in the book! >_<

Tell me what you think!

