The Do-Not-Buy List Vol. 3

The Do-Not-Buy List 3

I’ve thought long and hard about products I just haven’t been feeling. This is the list I’ve come up with!

  • Bloggers rave about the Nuxe Rêve de Miel Lip Balm, and – lip-balm-lover that I am – I had to try it. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. I didn’t find it hydrating at all; a lot like the Dior Crème de Rose Lip Balm, it just sat on top of my lips and didn’t actually hydrate them. I’ve used probably a quarter of the pot, because I so badly want to like it, but I still don’t. Save your $20 and try the Smith’s or Jack Black lip balm.
  • I have a few Nails Inc polishes, and I’ve found the formula to be quite inconsistent. Some are great, but unfortunately, Victoria isn’t one of them. The colour is beautiful, but I experienced tip wear the day after applying it. Yikes.
  • The BareEscentuals Angled Blush Brush was one of my first makeup brushes, and I wouldn’t recommend it (or any of the other BE brushes). It’s like the bristles are made of carpet. Hard, crispy carpet. For that price, you can get a couple of Real Techniques brushes, which are just amazing.
  • I’ve another disappointing nail polish, unfortunately. Butter London’s Goss is a gorgeous rose gold shade for spring. It applies beautifully; the brush strokes aren’t overly visible, unlike Essie’s Penny Talk. Unfortunately, though, the formula didn’t wear well for me; it chipped the day I applied it, and all I was doing was typing. Boo.
  • Finally, Josie Maran’s Coconut Watercolor Cheek Geleé. I just couldn’t understand this formula of this blush. Is it a gel? Cream? Gel-to-powder? A stain? I couldn’t get it to blend evenly without looking patchy, and it ended up weird and shiny by the end of the day. Needless to say, it went back to Sephora.

    And that’s it for now! (Click through links for picture sources, because these ones are not mine.)

  • Comments

    1. I totally understand this post. I don’t get the fresh lip treatment. They are thick and don’t last long to me.

    Tell me what you think!

