Chemical Exfoliation for Newbies

Modern Friction Pads Collage

It sounds oddly sinister for a skincare process. Like the kind of thing a villian in a James Bond movie might be plotting.

Chemical exfoliation.

Seriously, they (the beauty powers that be, of course) need to think of a better name for it because up until recently, I was scared of it because of the name alone. But it can be so good for your skin, and – unbeknownst to me – I was already doing it.

Essentially, there are two types of exfoliation: physical and chemical. Physical is your typical squeezy-tube-of-scrubby-stuff, buzzing-Clarisonic style exfoliation. It means using something physically abrasive – salt or sugar granules or a brush – to slough off dead skin cells and give cell turnover a boost.

Chemical exfoliation does the same thing, but without the physical scrubbing. Instead, it uses chemicals – namely, acids – to get rid of dead skin cells.

Lots of acids do this! Salicylic acid is my favourite, simply because my skin responds well to it – and I was already using a few products that contained this exfoliating acid. Other acids that unblock pores and get rid of dead skin include lactic acid (found in dairy products – that’s why yogurt masks are good), and glycolic acid. But fruit acids can have a similar effect – enter good ol’ Origins.

Their new Modern Friction Instant Brightening Peel Pads offer the chemical exfoliation newbie a gentle, unintimidating step into what sounds like a super scary world. I don’t know about instant brightening, but I’ve used the pads for a few weeks and I can safely say that I see results: fewer dry flakies, acne scars fading quicker, and an overall added glowiness.

It comes with 40 pads for around $40, which is expensive. They’re recommended for twice-weekly use, but I’d say start with once a week and see how your skin responds. Mine tingles a little when I apply it, which I take as a sign that I ought to only use the pads once a week for now.

As someone who was interested in chemical exfoliants but too scared to (consciously) incorporate them into my routine, I’m seriously pleased that Origins brought out this product.

Tell me what you think!

