What’s On My Face #1 | New Things

womf1 stuff

Womf 1 face copy

Some days, I think, “Wow, my makeup looks pretty nice today. I wish I were doing a blog post so everyone could see, but I don’t have anything to post about!” I’ve recently realized how silly that is; isn’t showing you pretty makeup enough?

So I decided to start a What’s On My Face (WOMF?) series. This first post I’m dedicating to a few new things that I’ve picked up over the past month or so and haven’t had a chance to blog about just yet.

Wet & Wild Comfort Zone Palette // I owned this little guy a few years ago, but I gave it to my mom so she’d see how good it is (and because I knew she’d never buy one for herself). I recently repurchased it because it is that good. The shadows are buttery smooth and incredibly pigmented. I’m wearing the top two shades on the left for a super subtle look. If you don’t have this palette and have $5 to spare, get on that.

Tarte Cheek Stain in Flush // I got this as a 100-point-perk at Sephora last week. I’m not big into cheek stains, but I thought eh, it’s essentially free, why not. As you can likely see, this shade didn’t give me much colour – I look pale, as my boyfriend told me when he looked at this photo. Aside from not-so-good colour payoff, it also leaves a really weird, sticky finish that even powder can’t combat. At $30 for a full-size, I’d say skip it and opt for a Nars Matte Multiple for better colour and finish.

Jane Cosmetics Water-Resistant Eyeliner in Black // This is a brand that I can’t find in Canada, but I picked this up in Buffalo last month. Its stiffness makes it ideal for tightlining, and I was pleased to see that there was no colour transfer onto my lower lashline! It was inexpensive, too.

Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade in Ebony // This is the weirdest brow-filling formula, and it certainly takes some getting used to. It’s essentially a cream product, which I’d never used to fill my brows before. I’ll likely do a video on it once I perfect my technique, but it’s really nice so far.

MAC Lipstick in Plumful // I’d been debating getting this for years now. Literally years. So I finally tried it on in a MAC store, and figured it suited me. I quite like it!

Hourglass Veil Oil-Free Mineral Primer // I’ve had this for a little while, and even featured it in my last video. It’s really nice for oil control. I tried mixing it in with my tinted moisturizer here, which didn’t work as well as just a straight application. Ah well – trial and error!

Elizabeth & James Nirvana White Rollerball // This is a bonus item because it isn’t on my face, but I’ve been mildly obsessed with it so I thought I ought to mention it. It came as yet another 100-point perk at Sephora. I didn’t think I liked this fragrance when it first came out, but like my favourite Marc Jacobs Dot, it’s seriously grown on me. It’s a grownup floral – peony, “muguet” (which is a fancy word for lily of the valley), and musk. I’m almost definitely asking for buying a full-size when this rollerball is done.

Comments

  1. This is nice. you merged what everyone has been doing. Some people do face of the day with just what they have on. and some only show products and write something about it. Nice!

Tell me what you think!

