The Importance of Going Barefaced

No makeup. No retouching. Nada.

This might be a bit of an odd post. It doesn’t feature any products or techniques, and in fact discusses a bit of a polarizing topic: going barefaced.

Remember on Facebook a few months ago when the whole No Makeup Selfie thing was circulating? Donation controversy aside, it was then that I realized how many of my friends really do wear makeup on a daily basis. Some of these friends would wear foundation and concealer so brilliantly sneakily that I didn’t notice they even had it on.

What was worrying were the people who got tagged and were then upset because they felt obligated to show their naked faces to the world. More worrying was the number of nominated people who didn’t.

A few years ago, I probably wouldn’t have shown my face without makeup. I wore it to school every day, to social events, even family gatherings. I felt more like me with it on than I did without it.

But in the past year or so, I noticed a change. I look forward to taking my makeup off; I see my skin without makeup and I’m proud of how it looks. I relish my makeup-free days – at least two per week; often more. I don’t hesitate to walk down the street or go to the grocery store with nothing on my face but moisturizer and sunscreen.

I think going bare-faced into the world is important. I think it’s critical not only to skin health – letting it breathe and all that – but also to mental health. It’s about being comfortable in your own skin and knowing who you are.

Makeup is fun for everyday and special occasions. It’s an amazing way to enhance your natural features and, to loosely quote Bronwyn of beyondbeautyblogger, it’s a fun and easy way to show yourself some love and kindness. But when makeup becomes a mask to hide your real face from the world, things might have gone too far: what can be a healthy self-care mechanism can mutate into a factor contributing to your own insecurity.

So if you can’t remember the last time you didn’t wear makeup, consider trying it out. Unsure of how to go about it? I’ve got a few tips:

  • Establish a solid skincare routine. Worried about acne? Incorporate spot treatments. Wrinkles make you self-conscious? Get a powerful lifting and smoothing serum. For me, it’s dark spots. For the most part I’ve learned to live with ’em, but regular exfoliation and a brightening serum help.
  • Still wear SPF. If you usually rely on one built into a foundation or tinted moisturizer, make sure you apply a separate one on no-makeup days.
  • Pick a day that works with your schedule for your first no-makeup day and make it special. I usually go with Sundays and then one other day during the week (usually when I’m too rushed or tired getting ready for school to apply anything). Use that day to practice self-care in other ways – I like to wash my makeup brushes (tedious!), do facemasks, paint my nails, catch up on good TV, and watch terrible things on Netflix (From Dusk Til Dawn, anyone?).
  • Comments

    1. You are super glam,
      makeup and no makeup
      🙂

      I go without makeup at least 2 days a week too.

    2. As someone who has more no makeup days than makeup days I can still appericate your skin care tips.

    Tell me what you think!

