The 5-Minute Face Revisited

The 5-Minute Face my face
The 5-Min Face products

I had to get up at 7am yesterday for the first time since school finished, and it reminded me of what it’s like to not have an hour to put on makeup. I ended up using a revised version of my go-to superquick makeup look. So I thought I’d share.

Before I start, I should mention that one 5-minute-face routine does not fit all. My biggest (and only!) quick makeup tip is to prioritize. Decide what is important to you – what will make you feel most pulled-together – and focus on that. I choose complexion and brows every time, so that’s what I worked on.

Laura Mercier Oil-Free Tinted Moisturizer in “Walnut” // For a tinted moisturizer, this gives surprisingly good coverage. It’s a natural finish that doesn’t get too shiny throughout the day, so it’s fairly low-maintenance as well. I find it’s tidiest and easiest to apply with a Real Techniques Buffing Brush, but fingers work too.

Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer in “Amande” // I don’t say this of many products, but this is an absolute Holy Grail. I especially like it when I’m in a hurry because it works on under-eye circles, blemishes, and my dark spots. I’ve used this with a lot of brushes, but at the moment I’m enjoying the Real Techniques Duo-Fiber Eye Brush.

Rimmel Stay Matte Powder // I’d be a shiny disaster without this. It’s got oil-control power for days.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in “Diffused Light” // This makes my skin radiant and glowy. It’s beautiful over light bases like the Laura Mercier for a natural, light-from-within glow. I like the Real Techniques Powder Brush for both powders. Base – done.

Anastasia Dip Brow in “Ebony” // This is probably the most time-consuming bit: getting my brows the way I like them without half my face looking too villainous. I’ve been liking working with this, and just about have my technique perfected. I use a discontinued dual-ended Sephora brush – it’s a spoolie and angled brush in one.

Revlon Lip Butter in “Sorbet” // Because I always need something hydrating on my lips, I usually go with whatever I find in my bag. Today, I picked this – it’s hydrating and, dabbed on, it gives a pretty flush of colour.

Comments

  1. I love Laura Mercier in Walnut. Brown Girl holy grail product.

Tell me what you think!

