The $4 Blush

ELF HD Blush Superstar

There’s something about a super-affordable makeup brand that frequently gets products right that makes me feel weak in the knees.

That’s probably an unhealthy reaction, but that’s okay – I’m going with it.

Elf make some genuinely amazing products, most of which are under $5. Their brushes and powder blushes are really good.

I’ve been getting into cream products lately; my skin has hit a weird oily-but-flaky phase that causes my makeup to look pretty awful if I’m not careful. I’m working on it. But in the mean time, even though I used to find them difficult to work with, cream products have become my friend. I’ve been going for a liquid highlight, cream bronzer, and cream blush to try to keep things looking as dewy and fresh as possible.

It was on a whim that I picked up Elf’s HD Blush in Superstar for a whopping $4. I hadn’t seen any reviews about it, so while I hoped it’d be good, I still wasn’t expecting all that much.

ELF HD Blush Superstar on face

The shade is a mid-toned pink that sits on the warm side of neutral (if that makes sense); as such, I think it’d work on people with any undertones in their skin.

When it comes to application, a little goes a very long way. A tiny blob works for both cheeks. I like to dab it on with a fingertip in three little dots along the apples & cheekbones, then use a stippling brush to blend it out. I would recommend doing one cheek first, blending it out, and then working on the other cheek, because this product sets fast. It’s a cream-to-powder formula, and while the powder that it sets to isn’t chalky and still retains some sheen, it becomes virtually impossible to blend once it sets.

The packaging is Elf’s usual no-frills, down-to-business sort, but for a $4 blush, I’m not expecting Benefit-grade packaging. It feels sturdy enough, and I appreciate the pump dispenser.

Whether you love cream products, have never tried them, or – like me – never really got on with them, Elf’s HD blush is a solid, affordable place to start. I think I want more shades.

Comments

  1. Awesome that this product is so good and still only $4!

  2. This looks really nice. I like the idea of a pump for a cream blush.

Tell me what you think!

