Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate

Kiehl's Midnight Recovery Concentrate

A Kiehl’s store opened near me recently, and although I had never tried anything from the brand before, I’d heard amazing things about their Midnight Recovery Concentrate.

I wasn’t 100% sure of what it was, and to tell you the truth, I’m still not sure. But after using it for a while, I’ll do my very best to describe what it is and the results I’ve seen from it.

The product comes in a dark blue-purple glass bottle – presumably to keep it from oxidizing – with a nifty dropper as an applicator. I very much like that the bottle is glass, and I always love droppers because they’re so sanitary and make my skincare regimen feel so cool and clinical. Anyway.

The product itself sits somewhere between a moisturizing oil and a serum in terms of what it does. It’s a blend of essential oils designed to speed skin cell turnover. Increased cell turnover can do a myriad of things, including improving skin’s texture, diminishing signs of aging, and boosting glow.

Now, you know my feelings on essential oils in skincare; I worry that they just irritate the skin, and that any cell-turnover-speeding is a result of the skin being irritated and trying to heal itself.

But in the time I’ve been using this, I haven’t noticed any visible irritation. So far so good.

I usually apply it after my toner and serum because my skin has been slightly oily in the past week or so, but it can also be applied over moisturizer – something I intend to take advantage of in the winter months.

I’ve noticed that my skin’s texture is better than it has been, it’s been a more even colour (so much that I’ve skipped foundation or even BB cream in the past week or so) and my dry and oily patches are ebbing more towards normal.

Kiehl’s is big on samples, so I would definitely recommend sampling this product if you’re interested in it. It might not do so well on extremely sensitive skins, but one thing’s for sure: oils are not something to be feared in a skincare regimen!

Tell me what you think!

