My YSL Collection

YSL collection uncapped

Usually, when I spend $40+ on a beauty product, it’s a palette of some sort.

But in recent years, I’ve been occasionally spending more than I’d care to admit on luxury lip products that make MAC lipsticks look cheap.

YSL beauty products are about as high end luxury as I’ll go, and I fully acknowledge that the prices are ridiculous. We’re talking around $40 for a lipstick, and $50 for the famous Touche Éclat.

YSL Collection capped

But the products come with a palpable level of quality to them. The packaging is shiny silver or gold metal, with that scandalous peek at the shade of the product inside, and some serious weight to it in the hand.

My first foray into YSL was a Rouge Volupte Glossy Stain in 12 Coril Fauve. I remember being super excited about the Rimmel Apocalips, hoping that it would be a dupe for the YSL. I was sorely disappointed, and it wasn’t long after that that I treated myself to the real thing.

It’s an incredibly unique product. One layer of this ultra-glossy lipstick goes on tacky and sheer; two builds it up to a semi-opaque, candy-apple-like finish. It makes my lips look super glossy, perfect, and coated in candy. Despite the high shine finish, the texture isn’t sticky at all – in fact, if I didn’t look in the mirror, I’d think I was just wearing lip balm. The applicator provides a fairly precise application experience, too. My sole complaint? My lips can get flaky and dry after a day of wear, but my lips are fussy, so that is to be expected.

I debated purchasing a YSL Rouge Volupte Sheer Candy for a while, citing it as a glorified tinted lip balm in my mind. But it’s a really, really good tinted lip balm. It’s moisturizing, applies evenly, and the shade 4 Succulent Pomegranate has a lovely hint of colour to it. I don’t think I’d purchase another shade of it, but I’m definitely happy that I have this one.

My final YSL lip product is a Rouge Volupte Shine in 16 Orange Impertinent. It looks super orange in the tube, but goes on a pretty, peachy pink. The formula is fairly moisturizing and pigmented. It can become slightly patchy or uneven throughout the day, but it feels so nice on the lips that it doesn’t even bother me.

Three Swatches
[Top to Bottom: Rouge Volupte Sheer Candy in 4 Succulent Pomegranate, Rouge Volupte Shine in 16 Orange Impertinent, Rouge Volupte Glossy Stain in 12 Coril Fauve]

Finally, the famous Touche Éclat. I have the shade 4, and it went up to 5 shades. This is possibly the most misunderstood beauty product there is. It is not a concealer – in fact, if you try to use it as one, you’ll be horribly disappointed. It’s a cream highlighting product with virtually no shimmer. Because of the price tag, this isn’t an everyday product for me. I use it in conjunction with primer and concealer to give my skin a perfected radiance on special occasions. I’ve had it for a few years with no changes in scent, colour, or texture, which is nice.

I’m not sure I’d repurchase any of these products or call them absolute essentials, but if you can afford it or save up for it, YSL beauty products are perfect little treasures to make yourself feel special.

Tell me what you think!

