My Helix Piercing Experience

Helix Piercing

Almost two weeks ago now, I paid someone to stab me with a sharp object, so I thought I’d write about my experience.

I still can’t believe I did it. Anyone who knows me knows I’m the least edgy person there is, not to mention terrible at tolerating pain. But I’ve wanted a “cartilage” piercing for as long as I could remember. It was always a thing I wished I could do but never thought I could. Two weeks ago, I realized that hey, I could totally do that.

I should preface this story by saying that this was basically my first piercing. I have my lobes done, but I got those when I was a baby and don’t remember it at all.

One day after class, I went to Universal Tattoo on Rideau Street and to get it done. I opted for a little hoop because that’s the look I’ve always liked the best.

Sitting in the waiting area waiting to get it done was surreal. I was terrified.

My piercer was very kind, understanding, and professional. We decided where I would get it done – I wanted it higher up than most people. She used a hollow needle, which is ideal for all piercings but especially important for cartilage because using a gun is unsanitary and can shatter the cartilage.

The actual piercing bit was more painful than I thought it would be. She said it would feel like a pinch, but it burned and was sore for a few days afterwards.

I felt faint and dizzy for a while after that, and had to sit out in the waiting area for a while until I felt better.

In terms of aftercare, I’ve been cleaning it three times a day. My piercer recommended antibacterial soap and sea salt solution soaks, which I’ve been doing. Physical cleanings with soap were too painful to do during the first week, so I stuck to salt water. Now I’ve been doing the soap thing about once a day.

It’s still too painful to sleep on comfortably, but sometimes I wake up (in horror) on my left side. A week or so later, it’s sore if I bump it on something, but it’s not too bad.

Although I can’t believe I actually went through with it, I love it and am happy that I did!

Comments

  1. It looks great on you!

  2. I really cou’dnlt ask for more from this article.

Tell me what you think!

