The Cream Shadows For Lazy People

Rimmel ScandalEyes full
Rimmel ScandalEyes sideways

I’m lazy, and often, I’m lazy with my makeup.

Sure, there are days I want to do complicated eye makeup…but there are more days when I just want to smudge some stuff on my face to look put-together and feel more confident without having to put in a lot of effort.

Lately, I’ve been looking to cream shadow for that. It’s quick and easy, and even more fool-proof than a powder shadow. I love the Maybelline Color Tattoos – who doesn’t? they’re fantastic – but they set very quickly and, as such, can be a bit of a pain to blend. Plus, the whole dipping-my-bacteria-laden-finger-in-a-pot-of-cream-product thing isn’t my favourite.

These are flaws that you won’t find written in my initial review of the Maybelline Colour Tattoos because I’ve only stumbled upon them since finding something even better. The Rimmel ScandalEyes Eyeshadow Sticks boast waterproof-ness and 24-hour wear all in a neat jumbo pencil.

Rimmel ScandalEyes swatches

The two shades I picked up are Bulletproof Beige and Bad Girl Bronze. Both are extremely creamy and pigmented, and give a decent amount of time for blending before the product sets. I have only ever tried them over a primer, because my hooded eyes are extremely prone to creasing shadows. I can say that they hold up well over a primer, with or without a shadow over them.

Bulletproof Beige is several shades lighter than I am and, as such, it makes an excellent eyeshadow base for my beloved neutral shadows. It really makes the shades pop and gives them extra staying power. I particularly like to wear Bad Girl Bronze on its own on the lid and smudged under the eye. It’s just a smidge darker than I am – and shimmerier, of course – which I find gives subtle definition. An added perk of the pencil format is that ability to use it to line the eyes and give a smudgy, smoky look with very little effort.

I’m definitely looking forward to getting a few more shades!

Comments

  1. These look really nice! I’ve seen them mentioned on other blogs before, too – maybe I’ll pick some up some time. Have you tried Laura Mercier Caviar Sticks? Those are pretty good, too.

  2. I love these shadows too! You might not be at this point yet, but have you had any difficulties with sharpening the sticks? My current sharpener is a bit small and leaves the tips a bit odd, but I can’t seem to find a Rimmel sharpener specifically for the ScandalEyes sticks in the drugstore where I buy the shadow. Do you have any recommendations on where to get a sharpener for a wider stick like this one? Thanks!

  3. Oh, these look great! I haven’t seen them before — are they new, or have they need around for a while? Will have to check them out!

Tell me what you think!

